Tags

, , , ,

I am starting this off frustrated already.  I just made my first post, but forgot to save it and lost it.  It was a good post too.  Now I can’t remember what I said.  So it’s kind of appropriate that I am back at the beginning.  This is how most of my plans to to lose weight always begin.  I have a new plan though.  My plan is not to lose weight, but to get healthier.  This is a struggle for me.  It is a constant battle…actually that’s wrong.  It’s a war.  You see I am in love with bad food, sitting on my butt, and making up excuses, but at 40 years old things need to change.  I decided that Jan 1st, 2014 would be the time for that change, so of course I spent the holidays being as unhealthy as I possibly can be.  BIG MISTAKE.  It’s making it so much harder to start.

I am actually starting this blog later than I should have.  I started my journey on Jan 1st.  I gave up bread and all bread-like foods (cakes, crackers, pretzels, etc.) for the month of January.  I also have decided to cut out all of the major sweets that I can.  It’s been tough already and I am only 4 days in.

This blog will document my journey and hopefully keep me motivated and vigilant throughout the process.  I have given up too many times before.  I am too old to keep starting over.  So this is it.  I will do my best to keep this entertaining, which shouldn’t be hard since I will most likely be embarrassing myself as often as possible.  I am not an expert on nutrition or exercise.  I will not be using pills, supplements, programs or surgery in the process of getting healthier.  I am only using diet and exercise.  Hopefully, with my wife’s help (she knows quite a bit about this stuff), I will be able to get a little healthier throughout 2014 and make some changes to my everyday life that are better for me.  It will be hell. That I am sure of.

Weight loss is not my goal, but it is a good measuring stick.  That and BMI are how I will track my journey.  I hope this awful nightmare that I will be going through is entertaining for you and that in the end (not that I foresee an actual end to a healthier me) I will be happy that I did this.

As of Jan 1 my weight was 261.4 and my BMI 33.56 (OUCH).

